A few questions about macros

Forum for mod & macro requests and discussion

Moderator: Demon Hunters

70
Ecnailla
Posts: 3624

A few questions about macros

Post#1 » Mon Aug 25, 2008 4:47 pm

Question 1:
I want a macro that will assist my focus if it is alive and friendly. I want a single cast and cast sequence.
Will this work and if so do I have any old or unneeded crap in it? I used my shaman's spells for a simple example, but I'll actually be using this for my druid to assist my shaman in pvp.

/castsequence reset=target/combat [harm,nodead] [target=focustarget,harm,nodead] Lighting bolt, Lighting bolt, lighting bolt, lighting bolt, Chain lightning

/cast [harm,nodead] [target=focustarget,harm,nodead] Lighting bolt

Question 2:

/cast heroism
/use Drums of Battle
/use 13
/use Destruction potion
/party Use trinkets/cooldowns now.
/whisper Zeis DISTRACTION!

Do I have to press this macro once or 6 times?

Question 3:
Is it possible via scripts to disable jump or unbound the space bar when I go into flight form or aqua form? My druid is set to follow and if I use jump on my main to move up it makes my druid stop following me. I know I would have to hit a 2nd script when I land to rebind it. I have tried to just keep it turned off, but I don't like not being able to jump at all on my druid. I don't know anything about addons, but how complicated would it be to write an addon that just prevents or unbinds your "jump" or spacebar while in flight or aqua forms?


Question 4:
I have started to play around with a voice program (thanks D!) and it has raised some questions about botting. I can set it up to where I say "Move forward", it will press W and hold it unless I say "Stop". I don't think that will trigger me as botting, but I can also use the program to press tab, cast a spell and then cast a 2nd spell. I know this is bad and will get me in trouble as it violates the 1key=1action policy - but I didn't press any keys. If a program is pressing one key for me or if it is pressing multiple keys for me - how does that show up differently? I guess I am just worried that I could get in trouble because a program is typing period - even if it is just 1 key. But on the other had that is what my dualboxing program does- I hit 1 and it hits 1 inside two seperate programs and blizz gave that the green light.

User avatar
100
Lealla
Class Leader
Posts: 3797
Contact:

Post#2 » Thu Aug 28, 2008 10:04 am

Answer 1:
Your conditionals could be in the wrong order - the way you wrote those macros, you will always attack your current target if you have one. My impression is that you'd rather attack your focus's target by preference. If I'm wrong and you only want to assist your focus if you aren't currently targeting anything, then the macros will work as you wrote them.

You mentioned "assist my focus if it's alive and friendly". The way you wrote the macro, it's actually checking your focus's target. If that's your intention, fine, but you cannot conditionally cast on anything other than the unit being tested in your clause. The following would work, however:

/assist [target=focus,help,nodead]
/cast blah blah


Answer 2:
As long as none of the abilities/items you are activating invokes the global cooldown (self/item group cooldowns don't count), one press will cause all of those commands to be run at the same time (more or less).


Answer 3:
It is possible, but I don't have my API reference handy to tell you exactly how to write the command. You would use /script SetBinding(), however. I'll check when I get home. I'm also not sure if it's possible to do this in combat; I suspect not.


Answer 4:
Using a voice program to control the game is fine, as long as you stick to the "one command = one keypress" mantra. Having a voice command hold down 'W' until you tell it to stop is no problem. Having a voice command send "1, pause, 2, pause, 3, pause, 4, pause" would be a nono. Voice programs are no different in this manner than a programmable keyboard, mouse, or other peripheral. It's how you use it that counts, not that you use it.
Image
Image

User avatar
Dzam
Posts: 131

Post#3 » Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:15 pm

I was told that macros created by thrid party products would be a violation however you won't get perma banded for that only a temporary ban. The keyclone application is allowed though just not doing more thatn repeating the keys you type. I would think that blizz would probably not detect this anyway because you won't be creating a pattern if you are at the keyboard. I think that they only frown upon a macro that would press the buttons rappidly for a long period of time like a shoot macro or something like that.

User avatar
100
Lealla
Class Leader
Posts: 3797
Contact:

Post#4 » Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:32 pm

Dzam wrote:I was told that macros created by thrid party products would be a violation however you won't get perma banded for that only a temporary ban. The keyclone application is allowed though just not doing more thatn repeating the keys you type. I would think that blizz would probably not detect this anyway because you won't be creating a pattern if you are at the keyboard. I think that they only frown upon a macro that would press the buttons rappidly for a long period of time like a shoot macro or something like that.

There's nothing inherently wrong with third party macros. If I take my trusty G15 and map G1 to "/cast Fireball", I'm doing exactly the same thing that I could do with a normal macro in WoW (only slightly less reliably since you're transmitting the keys to the client rather than running the macro directly within it). I could do the same thing by mapping Shift-Ctrl-Alt-\ to Fireball within the game and having the G1 key invoke that key combination.

However, having the G1 key do "Fireball, pause 3 seconds, Fireball, pause 3 seconds, Fireball" would be a violation because you aren't allowed to do that in WoW. Similarly, having it do two things that can't be done together on the same keypress, such as jump and cast a spell at the same time, is also a violation.

The above distinction applies whether you're using a programmable keyboard, "trainer" software, voice recognition software, keyboard splitter, Chinese slave, drinking bird set to pound on the keyboard, or whatever. If it can't be done in the WoW macro language, you aren't allowed to do it with an external program/device.

The question of being caught, naturally, is slightly different, but if you aren't stupid enough to use a botting program that Warden can detect, then you aren't likely to come to a GM's attention unless someone reports you.
Image

Image

User avatar
100
Lealla
Class Leader
Posts: 3797
Contact:

Post#5 » Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:36 pm

Question 3:
Is it possible via scripts to disable jump or unbound the space bar when I go into flight form or aqua form? My druid is set to follow and if I use jump on my main to move up it makes my druid stop following me. I know I would have to hit a 2nd script when I land to rebind it. I have tried to just keep it turned off, but I don't like not being able to jump at all on my druid. I don't know anything about addons, but how complicated would it be to write an addon that just prevents or unbinds your "jump" or spacebar while in flight or aqua forms?

Here's how to do this (assuming space is your jump key):

Code: Select all

#showtooltip
/cast [swimming] Aquatic Form; [flyable,nocombat] Flight Form
/run if not UnitAffectingCombat("player") then if GetShapeshiftForm(1) then b=nil else b="JUMP" end SetBinding("SPACE", b) end


I haven't tested it thoroughly, and it could probably be refined quite a bit, but basically when you use the macro to shift to Flight or Aquatic form, it will unbind your space bar from the Jump function, and when you use the macro to unshift, it'll rebind the key.

The tricky part is that it will not work properly when you use anything other than the macro to shapeshift (including being forced out of a form involuntarily). Furthermore, you will find yourself having a great deal of difficulty getting off the ground in Flight Form if you can't jump.

The other part of this question: can you have an addon handle toggling the keybinding for you, is easily possible. However, an addon (like a macro) cannot rebind keys in combat, so you could find yourself unexpectedly unable to jump in some situations.
Image

Image

Return to “WoW Addon & Macro Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest