[Split] Martial Arts

Forum for jokes, videos and other random shit. Some content may be NSFW.

Moderator: Demon Hunters

zephar

Post by zephar » Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:28 pm

Lealla wrote:Ec, I hold a 2nd degree black belt in Chung Do Kwon Tae Kwon Do - under a traditional teacher rather than a competitive one. I'm about 2 years out of practice, unfortunately.
I have heard of Tae Kwon Do, but never heard of Chung Do Dwon. I assume it is some sort of self defense.

But speaking of Martial arts, The two I consider the top forms of martial arts to be Kickboxing and Muay Thai.

Muay Thai vs Tae Kwon Do Video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dcoprF6_FOM
I crit perception so hard that I could see why people love Cinnamon Toast Crunch.

" I saw a baby [ panda ] sneeze in a video and it telepathicly gave me a bonar. Cosmic Powers "

Ecnailla
WoW character race: Draenei
WoW character class: Paladin
WoW character gender: Male
WoW character level: 70

Post by Ecnailla » Thu Jan 22, 2009 6:01 pm

Na, its just a form of Tae Kwon Do. It's founder trained with Gichin Funakoshi in Okinawa, commonly known as the father of modern day karate.

While I respect the tradition and I find the kata and form very interesting, I find the practicality of a lot of "traditional" martial arts to be lacking.
I am a huge fan of Jeet Kune Do, founded by non other than Bruce Lee. It isn't actually a style of martial arts, that is a common misconception. It is a principal to be applied to martial arts. Basically, "the style of no style". He would offend some martial arts gurus by mixing styles and saying, you may have the best side kick, but this style has a better roundhouse. He would study various styles and if he found a better way to do [insert move here], he would adapt to it. That is why you never see Bruce Lee's name with a style of fighting.