So what's ur computer setup and wow fps and settings?

Computers, Gadgets and other Cool Shit

Moderator: Demon Hunters

User avatar
ryeku
Posts: 523
Contact:

So what's ur computer setup and wow fps and settings?

Post#1 » Tue Nov 11, 2008 10:26 pm

comp set:
- AMD turon moble x64 cool-n-quite power now tech
- 1GB DDR @ 166mhz
- ATI Xpress 200M w/ shared DDR 128 mb (132 mb when usable)
- 15.1 widescreen

wow fps: rev @ 1280x800 => 5-15 in cities, 1-30 adventuring, 10-20 in 10 mans & 1-14 in 25 mans
all setting are at min except spell effects and weather intensity at max

im kinda bored and want something to compare other than fur=P

Ryeku
Thievery is not what other's make of it, but what you get from it.
-Ryeku

User avatar
Palehorse
Posts: 2031

Post#2 » Tue Nov 11, 2008 10:45 pm

core 2 duo 6300
2x 1 GB ram (DDR2 I think)
x700 ATI Raedon Pro
19" SyncMaster 940 BW widescreen monitor
Antec P150 case <3
Last edited by Palehorse on Thu Feb 26, 2009 11:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Arlan
Posts: 541

Post#3 » Tue Nov 11, 2008 10:53 pm

Bleh, I'm bored too.

ASUS M2N-e with AMD 64 x2 6000+
Nvidia 9600 GT 512MB
4 x 1 GB Corsair DDR2 800
22" widescreen

I get pretty much 60 fps everywhere with all the graphics settings maxed except for shadows.

User avatar
Tachion
Posts: 1015

Post#4 » Tue Nov 11, 2008 10:56 pm

Athlon x2 64 5600+
nvidia NF4 mobo
raptor 10k 80gb drive
3gb DDR
8800GTS oc'd
23" BENQ widescreen monitor @ 1900 x 1200
wow FPS 35 in major cities, 60 while questing, 15-30 in 25m instances
Image
Image

User avatar
Tachion
Posts: 1015

Post#5 » Tue Nov 11, 2008 10:57 pm

that m2n-e is a good HTPC board from what i hear
Image

Image

User avatar
Taralash
Posts: 442

Post#6 » Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:28 pm

My old dumpy computer, which also happens to be the one I primarily use, is registered to Mike Ock (clever, I know) and is as follows,

AMD Athlon XP 1800+
1.5 GHZ, 1 Gig of Ram
Nvidia GeForce 7600 GS

I usually run bout 20-40 FPS. 15 in major cities. Seen it go as low as 10 in really intensive 25 mans.

User avatar
Arlan
Posts: 541

Post#7 » Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:30 pm

Tachion wrote:that m2n-e is a good HTPC board from what i hear


It was a decent board for the price, but is pretty dated compared to what's out now considering it has the nForce 570 northbridge. I put together an HTPC a while ago with an ASUS M3A.

User avatar
Dzam
Posts: 131

Post#8 » Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:37 pm

Core 2 Quad 2.4ghz
6gig DDR
Dual Raptor 10K Raid 0
Nvidia 8800GT 512mb
Vista Ultimate 64-bit <---What a difference!!!!

With the same rig using 32-bit Vista I would get around 15 fps in Shat and 40-50 flying on my epic mount.

Now I get around 30 in Shat and 60-80 flying on my mount.

User avatar
Overan
Posts: 41

Post#9 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 1:36 am

[ A Good Rig ]
QX9650
16GB DDR3
3-Way SLI 9800GTX's

I get around 40 in Shatt at 1920x1200 all settings maxed...

I could get more, but I am getting ready to shelf this system if the big evil would get around to releasing a better processor, or if AMD would catch up...

I hate when one of the two is faltering like AMD is.

My laptop though is amazing in that it can pull of about 20fps in Shatt, and it's only:
AMD Turion "Ultra" dual-core 2.2ghz
4GB DDR2
Radeon HD3200 onboard...

(1680x1050, most settings max, distance, AA/AF and some settings at about 75%)

I love that HP Stuffed a desktop IGP into some of their laptops... It's almost as good as some of the NVidia discreet 8 series laptop graphics cards. The HP 6735b Series laptops are freaking awesome. I could have procured a better one, but I needed the serial port...
MORE DOTS!

User avatar
Gnomerman
Posts: 1814

Post#10 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 7:36 am

my aging rig

AMD FX-55 @3.0
asus A8N32-sli mobo
7900gt @500 and 1500
2 gigs of DDR 400
WD caviar 250 as my main hdd
i do about 15-20 fps in shat, 20ish in raid and 25 in the outlands and in azeroth about 40. i run all settings maxed except weather, shadows... and one more setitng ican't remember at 1280x1024

singlecore= /sigh

its only a matter of time (6 months im hoping) till i get my money right to build a new one, as its not worth upgrading my rig (unless someones got an opteron 165 170 175 180 or 185 lying around they wouldn't mind letting go of for cheap)
Image


There is more to life than pew pew you know, like staying out of the fire so you can live to pew pew another day

User avatar
ryeku
Posts: 523
Contact:

Post#11 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:45 am

by comparison so far, does the shadows set @ max really require that much to be rendered smoothly?
Kinda noobish question, as I know the answer will be yes most likely=q
Thievery is not what other's make of it, but what you get from it.

-Ryeku

User avatar
Arlan
Posts: 541

Post#12 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:42 am

ryeku wrote:by comparison so far, does the shadows set @ max really require that much to be rendered smoothly?
Kinda noobish question, as I know the answer will be yes most likely=q


You would think shadows wouldn't effect fps that much, I mean they're only shadows, right? How much could there be to render? Turning up shadows kills fps even on high end machines, the new bliz "improved graphics" engine is fail.

Kendalh
Demon Hunter
Posts: 738

Post#13 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:51 am

Core 2 Quad E6600
EVGA 8800GT
Intel 975X
4 GB DDR2 800 Patriot RAM
20.1 inch wide screen

With all the settings maxed and res at 1680x1050, my fps stays around 60 and I think it might go down to 45 in raids. The only time I've noticed any video lag was on Illi when he did his AoE shadow thing in demon phase.

User avatar
Gnomerman
Posts: 1814

Post#14 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:55 am

shadows use up more graphics computing power than anything else due to the way DX9 works. there is areason why graphics cards have shaders (that only process shading) built onto them (well all DX9 graphics cards). thats why there are more important things that what its clock rate is, like how many shaders, and pixel pipelines, and stream processors...... (well those are a DX10 thing).

and the new bliz improved graphics engine is not fail. not even a little bit. wow has never, and will never, be a very recource demanding game. a low end system can play wow, with the settings turned down. however, crysis, my computer doesn't even meet the minimum specifications (single core ftl), and my gpu was the minimum reccomended, which means fail.

for what the game looks like, the game is done really well, and is overall a very recource efficient game (its not as good as say half life 2 e1 (when they introduced HDR)) also the number of addons you have have an effect on your framerate.
Image





There is more to life than pew pew you know, like staying out of the fire so you can live to pew pew another day

User avatar
100
Lealla
Class Leader
Posts: 3797
Contact:

Post#15 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 10:13 am

Athlon X2 4200+
2 GB RAM
GeForce 7800 GS
19" LCD @ 1280x1024

My normal FPS is in the 30-40 range, but I've seen it drop as low as 4-5 in graphically intense raid encounters. The biggest issue I'm having now is that I suffer a severe framerate drop when I turn rapidly or when lots of effects are on the screen. I strongly believe that either my AGP bus is being saturated by the game's texture loading demands, or my video card is wearing out. When I have the chance to play with it, I'm going to consider reducing texture quality and messing with a few other graphics settings to see if they make a difference.

Otherwise, an upgrade may be in my future, despite not having the money for it... sigh.
Image
Image

Return to “Technical Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest