So what's ur computer setup and wow fps and settings?

Computers, Gadgets and other Cool Shit

Moderator: Demon Hunters

User avatar
Polarside
Posts: 1087
Contact:

Post#16 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 10:18 am

Core 2 Quad 2.4Ghz (Still debating if I want to switch it out for a 3.0Ghz Core 2 Duo)

4GB DDR2 1066 Crucial Balistix RAM

ATI HD3870 512MB GPU

22 In. wide screen (1680x1050 res)

Settings maxed out. I get 70-80 FPS flying around. Around 40 in the big cities. Questing usually around 50 - 60. Raids... Don't remember what I used to get. Seems like I remember about 30 - 40 when everything started to happen.
Shhh! Theres a dead horde in my trunk. Wanna see it? Fuck around and you'll be it.

User avatar
Dzam
Posts: 131

Post#17 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 10:39 am

I guess I should have mentioned that my res is 24inch 1920x1200. Guess thats why some of you with the same rig as me gets better res than I do sometimes.

My laptop is not too shabby either.
Lenovo T61p
Centrino PRO 2.4GHZ
4 gigs DDR
Nvidia Quadro FX570M 512meg
Samsung 64gig SSD

It gets about 20fps shat and 50 flying around. at 1920x1200 res as well. :)

User avatar
110
Elvenbane
Leader
Posts: 4481
Contact:

Post#18 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:06 am

Asus A8N SLI-Deluxe
Athlon X2 4200+
2GB OCZ DDR 400
BFG GeForce 9600 GT OCX

~45-80 fps out and about, under heavy aoe in raids can drop to ~10
It's the thought that counts, not how many people die because of it.
Elvenbane#1520

User avatar
100
Lealla
Class Leader
Posts: 3797
Contact:

Post#19 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:14 am

Elvenbane wrote:Asus A8N SLI-Deluxe
Athlon X2 4200+
2GB OCZ DDR 400
BFG GeForce 9600 GT OCX

~45-80 fps out and about, under heavy aoe in raids can drop to ~10

Seriously, the only significant difference between your system and mine, EB, is the video card. And your issues with raid FPS seem to mirror mine. Do you play with settings maxed? And is your mobo PCI Express or AGP?
Image
Image

Kendalh
Demon Hunter
Posts: 738

Post#20 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:21 am

That video card doesn't come as AGP, only PCIE.

User avatar
Gnomerman
Posts: 1814

Post#21 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 12:53 pm

if you really need an agp upgrade i think the 3850 exists in agp... its silly though. .save your pennies and build a new rig for like 850ish and it will slam you system with the new gpu

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6814102730

125 bucks... but agp is sooo 5 years ago
Image


There is more to life than pew pew you know, like staying out of the fire so you can live to pew pew another day

User avatar
100
Lealla
Class Leader
Posts: 3797
Contact:

Post#22 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 2:17 pm

Yeah, I know. I'm in a tough position because I can't justify a computer upgrade right now for anything other than playing WoW at max settings. The 3.0 graphical upgrades have really exposed my system's age, though, and I may compromise by turning some settings down.
Image

Image

User avatar
Overan
Posts: 41

Post#23 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 6:49 pm

Arlan wrote:
ryeku wrote:by comparison so far, does the shadows set @ max really require that much to be rendered smoothly?
Kinda noobish question, as I know the answer will be yes most likely=q


You would think shadows wouldn't effect fps that much, I mean they're only shadows, right? How much could there be to render? Turning up shadows kills fps even on high end machines, the new bliz "improved graphics" engine is fail.


Actually, DX9, OpenGL, 3DFx or whatever, shadows are rather complex mathematical equations...

The only remotely fail part of the new system is that I can't do shadows with SLI...
MORE DOTS!

User avatar
Gnomerman
Posts: 1814

Post#24 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:02 pm

no shadows with SLI=fail... does anyone know if it works with crossfire? (i have a feeling my next rig will be running a crossfire set up unless nvidia comes out with something kick ass that doesn't cost a small fortune)
Image





There is more to life than pew pew you know, like staying out of the fire so you can live to pew pew another day

User avatar
Overan
Posts: 41

Post#25 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:41 pm

Gnomerman wrote:no shadows with SLI=fail... does anyone know if it works with crossfire? (i have a feeling my next rig will be running a crossfire set up unless nvidia comes out with something kick ass that doesn't cost a small fortune)


My next rig will be crossfire too, because the NVidia chipsets for Intel are absolute rubbish.
MORE DOTS!

User avatar
ryeku
Posts: 523
Contact:

Post#26 » Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:08 am

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=276665

Aparently shadows work fine with crossfire(just have to read artical above to render shadows correctly in wow). Nvidia seems to be falturing lately=< I love Nvidia stuff but AMD/ATI have the upperhand i guess=/
Thievery is not what other's make of it, but what you get from it.
-Ryeku

User avatar
Gnomerman
Posts: 1814

Post#27 » Thu Nov 13, 2008 8:57 am

the x58 chipset from intel, which is coming out in a week with the new intel icore7 chips will support crossfire and SLI, thats right, both. up to quad crossfire or 3way sli (2- 4870x2 or 3 gtx200 series Nvidia chips). also supporting tri channel ddr3 memmory (aka awesomeness).

other notes, the new chips will be quadcore and support hyper threading (8 virtual cores). gaming improvements of a core2duo/quad is small, but in multitasking, and other cpu intensive applications its a large improvement, especially considering it has an integrated memory controller (like amd.....). basically its gonna be epic.

however i don't have the loot to drop 1100 bucks on graphics cards (thats about my budgetish for an entire system) but its pretty cool imo (intel chipsets are usually very solid, oc well, and handle onboard raid very well).
Image





There is more to life than pew pew you know, like staying out of the fire so you can live to pew pew another day

User avatar
100
Lealla
Class Leader
Posts: 3797
Contact:

Post#28 » Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:08 am

The new Intel chips and chipsets have gotten some pretty intense press; if I had the dough to spend I'd be all over them.
Image

Image

User avatar
Gnomerman
Posts: 1814

Post#29 » Thu Nov 13, 2008 12:29 pm

the baseline 2.66 ghz (which outperforms a 3.0ghz QX9650) starts at 266 bucks from what i've read (newegg will hook me up) however an x58 chipset board is probably gonna run you 250 bucks.

so thats about 500 just for the cpu and mobo. throw on all your other goodies (3x2gig sticks of ddr3 250 bucks thanks to the best etailer on the planet) and we are talking 750 bucks for a platform upgrade thats ready to take whatever you can possilby throw into it (raid 10 with Quadfire anyone?).

(i realize im a walking talking newegg advertizement... maybe i should get them to pay me)

its not terribly pricey, but for a $1500 system that is a rock solid starting point. just.. where to find 1500 bucks (if i save my pennies im hoping by june for me)
Image





There is more to life than pew pew you know, like staying out of the fire so you can live to pew pew another day

User avatar
ryeku
Posts: 523
Contact:

Post#30 » Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:17 pm

Bump.

H.D.D
VC
RAM
CPU
Mobo
Case

Quite happy with the build but want a few crits if possible.
Thievery is not what other's make of it, but what you get from it.

-Ryeku

Return to “Technical Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron